Author Topic: MP573 works tests fine for 2 min then cuts out.

May 09, 2022, 12:36:21 AM
Read 2435 times

atre594

• View Profile
Hello, I just bought the MP573 kit about a week ago and I just finished building it. I was happy to see that it measured as intended with all the setup guide tests. 

I was able to get the unit working and it sounded good for about 2 min and after a while it just Started to create a buzz and then cut out.

I turned off the unit and checked my work. Seemed fine, so when I turned it on it worked perfectly fine again but after a few minutes the problem arose again. 

Thoughts? I’m new to electronics and I’m building this for educational reasons. I may be doing something wrong that is simple. Any help would be appreciated!

May 09, 2022, 10:17:32 AM
Reply #1

JPK

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Were you able to set the bias at 3V on TP2/TP4 ?
Are the 3 pins IC's U1 or U2 getting hot?
Is the thermal relay PTC1 getting hot?
Check that you do not have a short circuit between any 2 adjacent wires on the output transformer PCB.
JPK

May 10, 2022, 12:11:00 PM
Reply #2

atre594

• View Profile
Thanks for the response.

Yes I was able to get 3 volts with TP4/TP2. 

U1, U2 and PTC1 don’t seem to be getting hot.

I have triple checked the output transformer and I redone any suspicious solder but it’s still having the same issues. 

I have noticed that the unit works fine when I turn it on and off again. As soon as i start switching the impedences and phase it eventually starts to sound buzzy and ultimately cut out. 

I also noticed this when redoing the setup guide test:

Using the multimeter I tested the ohms on the card slot at -V, OV, +V. 

-V & OV read: OL 
OV & +V read: 8.4M Ohms 

It said that it needs to be greater than 1K Ohm but I wasn’t sure if this was perhaps not normal. 

Again any help would be greatly appreciated! 

May 11, 2022, 11:46:32 AM
Reply #3

JPK

• Administrator
    • View Profile